The National Progression Award (NPA) in Administrative Activities at SCQF level 4 is designed to enable you to acquire and develop knowledge, understanding and skills for working, at junior level, in the administrative sector. The award will enable you to focus upon key skills such as administration, documentation content, using templates, IT and customer care as well as providing you with information regarding working safely.

  • Working with Others
  • Problem Solving
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Numeracy
  • Communication
  • Confidence
  • Planning and Preparation
  • Organisational skills
  • Adaptability and flexibility

Two years:

  • Year one – Administration and IT: An Introduction (If successful completion of year 1)
  • Year two – National 5 Administration and IT
  • Administrative Activities
  • Prepare Business Documents
  • IT Solutions for Administrators
  • Building Own Employability Skills
  • Preparing for Employment: First Steps
  • Responsibilities of Employment
  • This course is available to S3 school pupils, they should be capable of working at National 4 level.

Candidates undertaking and successfully completing the NPA could progress to SCQF level 5 Units, for example:

  • National 5 Administration and IT
  • H1YV 75 Administrative Practices
  • H1YW 75 IT Solutions for Administrators
  • D932 11 Word Processing 4
  • National Progression Award in Enterprise and Employability at SCQF Level 4 or 5

You may also progress to the National Progression Award in Administration: Office Skills and Services (G9CF 45) at SCQF level 5 and/or National Certificate in Administration (G99P 45) at SCQF level 5.

Employment could be gained in the administration, business, and commercial sector in one of the following job roles:

  • Administrative Assistant
  • Office Junior/Receptionist
  • Clerical Assistant