(Left to right) Carol Hunter, Student President; Lewis Morrison, Beccy Watt, Kayleigh Harris and Sam Weaver

Six students have become the latest recipients of the Adam Smith Foundation’s Independent Living scholarships. 

The scholarships, which support care experienced young people and young carers, were presented to the students at a special ceremony held at Fife College’s St Brycedale Campus in Kirkcaldy.

A record number of students, 48, applied for the popular scholarship this year with the final six chosen following an interview process.

Students presented with awards on the day were:  Lewis Morrison, 17 from Glenrothes; Kayleigh Harris, 16 from Cardenden; Sam Weaver 19 from Dunfermline; and Beccy Watt, 17 from Glenrothes.

Students Sharon Johnston, 19 from Kirkcaldy and Alex Duncan, 19 from Dunfermline also received scholarships but were unable to attend the presentation on the day.

Carol Hunter, Student President for Education and Representation, was delighted to present the awards to the students. Carol herself is care experienced so knows first-hand the difference some extra financial support and recognition can make. 

The students plan to use the funds to help pay for materials and equipment to help them with their studies, such as laptops, make-up artistry kits and chefs knives.

The Independent Living Scholarship is part of a wide range of scholarships supported by individuals, organisations and the business community, and is administered through the Adam Smith Foundation.

Lyn Gold, Adam Smith Foundation Co-ordinator said: “The Independent Living Scholarship has been developed in recent years to recognise the College’s commitment to working with young carers and care experienced young people. 

“All of the award winners are extremely deserving and inspiring individuals who, despite extra pressures in life, show true commitment to their studies and to succeeding in their chosen careers. I was delighted to see them awarded today and wish them the very best with their future studies and careers.”

Full list of recipients of the Independent Living Scholarship:

  • Sam Weaver, 19, Dunfermline (Pathway to Social Sciences)
  • Kayleigh Harris, 16, Cardenden (Childcare Level 5)
  • Lewis Morrison, 17, Glenrothes (NC Built Environment)
  • Alex Duncan, 19, Dunfermline (HND Make-up Artistry)
  • Sharon Johnston, 19, Kirkcaldy (NC Early Education and Childcare)
  • Beccy Watt, 17, Glenrothes (SVQ Professional Cookery)